Marriage licenses are issued by the Clerk of the Circuit Court, located at 9483 Kings Highway Suite #3. The fee is $30.00.
As of July 1, 2016 Please not the following changes in Virginia State House Bill 703/SB 415 - Legal Age to Marry
Code Law 20-48. Minimum age of marraige.
The minimum age at which persons may marry shall be 18, unless a minor has been emancipated by court order. Upon application for a marriage license, an emancipated minor shall provide a certified copy of the order of emancipation.
Both parties must appear before the Clerk to obtain a license (proof of age required, i.e. valid drivers license, passport or military identification). Cash or checks only. Must be completed by 4:00 pm.
Code Law 20-45.1. Void and voidable marraiges.
C. All marraiges solemnized on or after July 1, 2016, when either or both of the parties were, at the time of the solemnization, under the age of 18 and have not been emancipated as required by Code Law 20-48 shall be void from the time they shall be so declared by a decree of divorce or nullity. Notwithstanding the foregoing, this section shall not apply to a lawful marraiage entered in another state or country prior to the parties being domiciled in the Commonwealth.
Code Law 20-90. Suit to affirm marraige.
B. Notwithstanding Code Law 20-13, a marriage of a couple where one of the parties was under the age of 18 at the time of solemnization may be decreed valid upon petition by the party who was under the age of 18 at the time of the solemnization that would otherwise be deemed voidable under subsection C of Code Law 20-45.1 solely because of age, once such party has attained the age of 18. If both parties were under the age of 18 at the time of solemnization, such petition shall not be granted unless both parties have reached the age of 18 and join in the petition together.
Code Law 20-49 is repealed.
There are no residency requirements to obtain a marriage license in Virginia. A couple may go to any Circuit Court in Virginia to obtain this license. Once the license is issued, there is no waiting period and no blood test is required. The marriage license is valid for 60 calendar days and the marriage must take place in Virginia.
Marriages are not performed by the Clerk´s office. Marriages may be preformed by ministers whose ordination papers have been filed with the Circuit Court or by Marriage Commissioners. List of Marriage Commissioners is as follows:
- Paula Jones: (540) 645-1996 or (540) 775-8534
- Cybil Usual: (540) 684-7568
- David Norford: (540) 840-2414
- G. Lori Deem: (540) 842-4919
- Donna Norford: (540) 845-7306
To obtain a certified copy of a marriage license, the license must have been issued by the King George County Circuit Court. The certified copy can be obtained either in person or by mail. The fee for a certified copy of a marriage license is $2.50 per copy and will be made while you wait.
In order to obtain a copy by mail, the customer must prepare a written request providing the date of the marriage, the name of the groom and maiden name of the bride. A self-addressed, stamped envelope must be enclosed. The fee for a certified copy of a marriage license is $2.50 per copy. The copy will be mailed within one week from receipt of the request. Mail the request to King George County Circuit Court, 9483 Kings Highway Suite #3, King George, VA 22485.
If the marriage occurred in the Commonwealth of Virginia, but you are unsure what Circuit Court issued the marriage license, you can contact the Division of Vital Records in Richmond. Their address is Division of Vital Records, Post Office Box 1000, Richmond, VA 23219-1000. The telephone number is 804-225-5000 and their Web address is http://www.vdh.state.va.us/misc/f_08.htm